Nomination of Eric Wiertelak for SfN Councilor

Dear FUN Colleagues,


The Society for Neuroscience is now accepting nominations for two Councilor positions. Nominations will be accepted until Monday, February 24th.<x-apple-data-detectors://0>  The Public Policy and Governmental Affairs Committee would like to encourage our members (who also have a membership in the SfN) to nominate Eric Wiertelak for one of these two positions.  We would welcome your submission of his name to the Nominating Committee of the SfN for consideration.  Of course, you are also encouraged to self-nominate or to nominate others for the positions if you choose.  It's important that the voice of undergraduate neuroscience be heard at the SfN and this would be one way by which we as a community can participate in the governance of the SfN.


The nomination process is quite simple. All you need to do is to click on the link below and then nominate Eric for the position, as well as others you would like to support.  We provide the following 400 character statement for Eric's nomination. Please feel free to use it as a template and to edit it as you see fit.




Nomination:  Eric Wiertelak, a member of the CNDP, has shown extraordinary leadership for 18 years within the Faculty for Undergraduate Neuroscience and he will bring this vast experience to the SfN as a Councilor.  He was president of FUN for three years at a time when FUN was growing significantly and in need of sustained leadership.  He introduced many innovations that put FUN on solid financial footing.


Thanks for contributing to our efforts to have undergraduate neuroscience educators play a role in the governance of the SfN.


Best regards,


Julio Ramirez

Chair, Public Policy and Governmental Affairs Committee FUN



Julio J. Ramirez, Ph.D.

R. Stuart Dickson Professor

Director, Neuroscience Program

co-Director, Neuroscience Scholars Program

   Society for Neuroscience

Department of Psychology

Davidson College

Davidson, NC 28035