2009 German Poster Award Winner

The first prize is a one week trip to Germany, visiting selected neuroscience hot spots.  This year, yet another undergrad from Bates College, Maine, of Nancy Kleckner’s lab carried away the trophy: Miranda Gallo. Miranda’s complex and thorough research project on the central pattern generator of the pond snail (Helisoma trivolvis) and her professional presentation convinced the jurors unanimously. On the jury sat Prof. Dr. Horst Herbert of Tübingen, Prof. Dr. Josef Priller of Berlin, Dr. Erich Schneider of Munich and Dr. Felipe Opazo of Göttingen.

Runners-up were Adam Bledsoe of the University of South Dakota and Natasha Meyer of Davidson College. The prizes were awarded the same evening. A large and lively audience of undergrads and faculty watched the award ceremony during the FUN Social in Chicago on 19 October, hosted by FUN president Jennifer Yates and past president Christopher Korey.